lifestyle

Finding your Passion

I’ve been tossing around ideas for blog posts and really was unsure where to start at. So I’m just going to type and see where I end up at.

I mostly couldn’t decide if I should share a goofy story because I have hundreds or if I should concentrate on something a little more serious in my life. So I decided to start with what originally made me want to start blogging. And that is finding my passion.

So first of all, sorry this isn’t going to be as goofy as my introduction post, but it will still be real and it will be me.

Something I’ve been struggling with the most is my career. And I just want to briefly refer back to my introduction post. I PRIDE myself on being successful and getting a good job out of college. However, is this my dream job? No. I don’t want to get in much details regarding all the drama and incidents I deal with at work. What I mostly want to dig into is the emotions I feel and what others may also feel when finding their way.

I have the most amazing as well as the worst work schedule in the world. I have four days off (yes, FOUR!), however work Friday-Sunday 12 hour shifts. I work at a place that is 24/7, therefor does not close for any holidays, or well, basically anything. I honestly think our building could be on fire and I’d still be plugging into my laptop outside to continue working.

And guys, I work friggin hard. So hard. With no passion, no reward, nothing. It is just who I am. Everything I do, I do at 110 percent. My work ethnic is my life. But on Thursday, I dread the entire day knowing I have to drag my butt to work to something that I get nothing out of and I don’t feel is rewarding.

So.

I am here to say that it is okay to not have your dream job right away. People work so hard to get where they want to go. And I tell myself this every day I have to work.

And I’m also here to say, keep trying. Keep applying to new jobs. Find what you want to do. I can’t even tell you the amount of jobs I apply to every week, how many jobs send me nothing back, and how many thanks, but no thanks I get. I went through an interview process recently and got told nahhhh, we’re good on you after waiting OVER A MONTH for a response on what was happening.

But here I am, still applying, still looking, still determining what I want. Do I want to go back to school and get my master’s degree? Who knows. Do I feel like quitting and slumming burgers at McDonalds? Sometimes. But in the end, all the hard work I put into this job, all the projects I complete, all the leadership skills I put into this job, all these different things, it WILL pay off.

I’m sure you guys will be updated on my career and job journey. I don’t really know if this blog post is good or not, and I promise I’ll post a funny story in a bit, but I needed to write about this, and get everything off my chest. Because if I don’t, I wither away on my days off and wonder what my life has become.

It’s hard for my to be a positive person, I’m definitely more of, that glass is just filled with water than the glass is half full or half empty. So not only is this a blog post a message to others who may feel the same way as me, it’s a message to myself.

I think things happen for a reason and something better is going to come along, so keep up all the hard work and try and look on the brighter side of things.

2 thoughts on “Finding your Passion

  1. Hi there!
    I think I’m in a similar situation as you…I do my job but it’s just a job. I’m starting to enjoy it less and less. And I can’t seem to figure out what it is that I actually want to do.
    Have you read Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert? It’s a really inspiring read and may give you some ideas 🙂

    Like

    1. Hello! Thank you so much for the comment. I’ve started learning a lot of people are experiencing the same thing we are feeling towards our job.
      I haven’t read that but I am definitely going to check it out now! Thank you for the recommendation 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

